About the Trust

The Llanthony Secunda Priory Trust consists of 12 trustees from a wide range of backgrounds; from local government regeneration officers, community representatives, events co-ordinators, facilities/site managers to independent interested parties who also are actively involved with other local heritage sites.

These skills offer a breadth of knowledge to assist the transformation of the Priory and its grounds in order to conserve and develop in the future.  Since its conception, the Trust has managed to raise funds to prevent further deterioration of some of the most at risk structures on the site, such as the Outer Gatehouse on Llanthony Road and the Tithe Barn, both of which are now structurally safe, but without future investment in the site, the cycle of fundraising for repairs will soon need to begin again.  The Trust put a bid in to the Heritage Lottery Fund in 2013, and following a  Stage 1 Development Phase grant has secured a £3.1m grant the  "Re-formation" Project, which, will deliver a programme of restoration, conservation and community engagement.

In order to deliver the HLF project, the Trust has designated a Project Board of 4 trustees who focus on the facilitation of the proposal from inception through to completion.  The Project Board regularly update the Full Board of Trustees on progress and offer them opportunities to feedback and contribute at any stage.  This structure allows full Board approval, but enables the proposal to be pushed forward in a timely manner.

In order to fully deliver the project to completion, the Trust has appointed an external Project Manager to oversee the ‘on-the-ground’ detailed work with the consultants,  building contractors and  volunteers.  A Hertiage Manager has been appointed to manage the site on a day to day basis - activities, events, volunteer opportunities.

The Trustees:

Jeremy Williamson  [Chairman]                   Liz Griffiths  ( Secretary, Acting Treasurer)
Phil Staddon                                                 Martyn White
Ian Stainburn                                                Ian Patton
Sir Henry Elwes                                            Paul Toleman
Sarah Gilbert                                                 Graham Howell
Patrick Taylor                                                Julie Finch

Our Project Manager: Dr Edwina Bell

Our Heritage Manager:   Emma Davies 

Contact details: mailto:info@llanthonysecunda.org